Rob Melville nommé Directeur du Design de McLaren Automotive

30 May 2017

  • Rob Melville a été promu au poste de Directeur du Design et il reportera au Directeur de l’Exploitation (COO), le Docteur Jens Ludmann.
  • Il a rejoint la marque en 2009, en charge de la catégorie Sports Series et de la deuxième génération de la catégorie Super Series 

McLaren Automotive a le plaisir d’annoncer que Rob Melville a été promu au poste de Directeur du Design avec effet immédiat. Il reportera au Directeur de l’Exploitation, le Docteur Jens Ludmann.

Rob a rejoint McLaren Automotive en 2009 en qualité de Senior Designer pour devenir en 2014, Chief Designer de la marque. Depuis 2009, Rob a eu l’occasion de travailler sur la McLaren P1™, l’évolution de la 12C à la 650S, la 675LT mais a aussi a été responsable de la catégorie Sports Series qui a été reconnue « Best of the Best » dans le cadre du prestigieux Prix Red Dot Design en 2016. Plus récemment, il a assuré la direction du design de la 720S, le premier modèle de la deuxième génération de la Super Series. 

Son nouveau rôle de Directeur du Design implique la définition de la stratégie, de la philosophie et des principes de design de la société tout en travaillant étroitement avec les fonctions d’ingénierie, de conception et de production mais aussi avec l’équipe en charge des attentes clients. 14 nouveaux modèles ou dérivés sont prévus dans le cadre du business plan Track22. 

Rob a commenté : « Je suis ravi d’avoir été nommé Directeur du Design chez McLaren Automotive.  Je me rappelle encore le jour où j’ai été appelé pour rejoindre McLaren en 2009 et la joie ressentie à l’époque est la même qu’aujourd’hui. J’ai monté une équipe de conception merveilleuse et j’ai intégré une philosophie de design qui me passionne. J’ai toujours cru qu’un grand design raconte une grande histoire et c’est ce que nous faisons chez McLaren. Je me sens fier du travail accompli et me réjouis du travail à venir ». 

Tout récemment Rob a défini les piliers du design de McLaren Automotive afin de s’assurer que l’ADN de la marque soit maintenu tout au long du processus de conception. Ces piliers représentent la philosophie de la marque qui permet à l’équipe de créer des produits époustouflants dont leur forme explique leur fonction. Mis en œuvre sous la direction de Rob, ces piliers exposent les principes clefs du design : tout doit être développé pour une raison spécifique, réaliser des joyaux fonctionnels, être fidèle aux matériaux utilisés, assurer des proportions parfaites et être toujours courageux. 

Rob a travaillé précédemment pour Jaguar Land Rover où ses croquis et ses modèles en argile avaient été choisis pour la concept car LRX qui a débouché sur la voiture de série Evoque. Il a ensuite rejoint GM comme Senior Designer dans le cadre du groupe UK Advanced Design.  Elément clef de l’équipe créative, il a été responsable de l’évolution et de la réalisation des principes de conception et de la philosophie de Cadillac pour l’ensemble du portefeuille produits, y compris le projet Cadillac Converj. 

Il succède à Frank Stephenson qui a décidé de quitter McLaren Automotive.  La société lui souhaite tous ses vœux de réussite pour l’avenir et le remercie de sa contribution.  

Fin 

Notes aux Editeurs :

Des photos haute résolution téléchargeables associées à ce communiqué sont disponibles sur le site de McLaren Automotive – cars.mclaren.press.  

A propos de McLaren Automotive :

McLaren Automotive est un constructeur automobile britannique spécialisé dans les voitures sportives de luxe haute performance et les supercars ayant son siège auprès du McLaren Technology Centre (MTC) à Woking dans le Surrey. McLaren a été un pionnier dans l’utilisation de la fibre de carbone pour la production des véhicules dans les 30 dernières années. Depuis qu’elle a introduit un châssis en carbone dans les voitures de course et de route avec les modèles McLaren MP 4/1 de 1981 et McLaren F1 de 1993, tous les véhicules McLaren montent des châssis en fibre de carbone. 

Après le lancement global de l’entreprise en 2010, McLaren Automotive a produit sa révolutionnaire 12C en 2011 et la  12C Spider en 2012, suivies en 2013 par la série limitée McLaren P1™. Conformément à son plan qui consiste à lancer un nouveau modèle chaque année, l’entreprise a présenté la 650S Coupé et la 650S Spider en 2014 alors que 2015 a été une année de croissance sans précédent du portefeuille des produits avec cinq nouveaux modèles qui ont été lancés dans toute la gamme. L’édition limitée de la 675LT Coupé a fait ses débuts au Salon International de l’Automobile de Genève en même temps que la version course de la McLaren P1™ GTR qui, avec ses 1000 ch, est devenue la voiture la plus puissante qui n’ait jamais été produite par la marque. La Sport Series, très attendue, est finalement devenue la troisième – et dernière - catégorie de la gamme McLaren avec la 570S Coupé et la 540C Coupé qui ont débuté respectivement à New York et à Shanghai à un mois de distance seulement. . La fin de l’année a été marquée par le lancement du cinquième modèle, la 675LT Spider, conçue pour répondre directement à la demande des clients. 2015 a également été caractérisé par la fin de la production du premier modèle de l’Ultimate Series lorsque le 375ème exemplaire de la McLaren P1™ est sorti de l’usine, en clôturant en beauté une année pivot pour la marque britannique. 2016 a continué là où 2015 avait terminé avec l’introduction de la 570GT, un deuxième type de carrosserie pour la catégorie Sports Series et la McLaren la plus luxueuse jamais produite, mais aussi les versions de piste, les 570S GT4 et 570S Sprint. 2016 a également été marqué par l’introduction du nouveau business plan de l’entreprise Track22, avec un investissement d’1 milliard de livres en recherche et développement pour délivrer 15 nouvelles versions ou modèles d’ici la fin de l’année 2022, dont au moins 50% seront équipés d’un système hybride. La progression des ventes en 2016 a permis l’introduction d’une seconde équipe au centre de production (McLaren Production Centre), mais elle a aussi assuré une troisième année de profit en seulement 6 ans de présence sur le marché automobile. 

Partenaires de McLaren Automotive :

Pour soutenir la conception, le développement et la fabrication de sa gamme de sportives innovantes et prestigieuses, McLaren Automotive a conclu des partenariats avec des leaders mondiaux pour acquérir les technologies et les compétences des spécialistes. Parmi ses partenaires, AkzoNobel, Kenwood, Pirelli, Richard Mille et SAP.

Pour en savoir plus : cars.mclaren.com 

Contacts :

Wayne Bruce
Global Communications & PR Director | McLaren Automotive Limited
Téléphone : +44 (0) 1483 261500
Portable : +44 (0) 7768 132429
E-mail : wayne.bruce@mclaren.com 

Amel Boubaaya
European Communications & PR Manager | McLaren Automotive Limited
Téléphone: +44 (0) 1483 261500
Portable : +44 (0) 7920 531357
E-mail : amel.boubaaya@mclaren.com 

Federica Bruno
PR Consultant South Europe | McLaren Automotive Limited
Mobile: +33 (0) 6 19251664
Email: federica.bruno@mclaren.com 

Media website : cars.mclaren.press
Facebook : www.facebook.com/mclarenautomotive
Twitter : www.twitter.com/McLarenAuto
You Tube : www.youtube.com/mclarenautomotivetv

Rob Melville appointed Design Director of McLaren Automotive

30 May 2017

  • Rob Melville promoted to Design Director reporting to COO, Dr. Jens Ludmann
  • Joined in 2009, responsible for the award-winning Sports Series and second-generation Super Series
  • McLaren Automotive is delighted to announce the promotion of Rob Melville to Design Director with immediate effect.  He reports to Chief Operating Officer, Dr. Jens Ludmann. 

Rob joined McLaren Automotive in 2009 as Senior Designer, rising to Chief Designer in 2014.  During his time at McLaren, Rob has worked on the McLaren P1™, the evolution of the 12C into the 650S, the 675LT, and was responsible for the Sports Series which won the ‘Best of the Best’ category in the coveted Red Dot design awards in 2016.  Most recently he led the design of the 720S, the first model in the second-generation Super Series. 

As Design Director, his new role makes Rob responsible for further developing the company’s design strategy, philosophy and principles working with the engineering and manufacturing functions, as well as the customer insights team.  Another 14 new models or derivatives are promised under the Track22 business plan. 

Rob commented: “I am thrilled to be given the title of Design Director for McLaren Automotive.  I remember when I got the call to come and join McLaren back in 2009 and the joy I felt then is the same today.  We have developed a fantastic design team and have integrated a design philosophy that I feel passionately about. I have always believed that great design tells a great story and that is what we do here at McLaren. I’m incredibly proud.” 

Recently Rob initiated the design pillars of McLaren Automotive which instil the brand’s DNA through the design process.  These pillars form the main ethos from which the team create breath-taking products that tell the visual story of their function.  Implemented under Rob’s direction, the design pillars outline the core design principals of everything for a reason, functional jewellery, truth to materials, perfect proportions and always to be brave. 

Prior to McLaren, Rob started his career at Jaguar Land Rover where his sketches and clay were chosen for the LRX Concept Vehicle which led to the Evoque production car.  He later joined GM as Senior Designer within their UK Advanced Design Group.  As a key part of the creative team he was responsible for evolving and realising the Cadillac design principles and philosophy across the product portfolio, including the Cadillac Converj project. 

Frank Stephenson has decided to leave McLaren Automotive.  The company wishes him well with his future and extends its thanks for the contribution he has made. 

Ends 

Notes to Editors:

A selection of high resolution images accompanying this release is available to download from the McLaren Automotive media site – cars.mclaren.press 

About McLaren Automotive:

McLaren Automotive is a British manufacturer of luxury, high-performance sports and super cars, located at the McLaren Technology Centre (MTC) in Woking, Surrey. For the past 30 years, McLaren has pioneered the use of carbon fibre in vehicle production and since introducing a carbon chassis into racing and road cars with the 1981 McLaren MP4/1 and 1993 McLaren F1 respectively, McLaren has not built a car without a carbon fibre chassis. 

Following the global launch of McLaren Automotive in 2010, the groundbreaking 12C was revealed in 2011, the 12C Spider in 2012, and the limited-run McLaren P1™ went into production in 2013. In keeping with its plan to introduce a new model each year, the company unveiled the 650S, in Coupé and Spider form in 2014, while 2015 proved to be a year of unprecedented growth of the product portfolio with five new models launched across the full range. The strictly limited edition 675LT Coupé premiered at the Geneva Motor Show alongside the track-only McLaren P1™ GTR which, with 1,000PS, became the most powerful model ever produced by the brand. The much-anticipated Sports Series became the third – and final – model tier in the McLaren range with the 570S Coupé and 540C Coupé debuting in New York and Shanghai respectively, less than one month apart. The end of 2015 saw the launch of the fifth model, the 675LT Spider, which was as a direct response to customer demand. The year also saw the end of production for the first model in the Ultimate Series as the 375th McLaren P1™ was completed, closing what had become a defining year for the British brand. 2016 continued where 2015 had left off with the introduction of the 570GT - a second bodystyle for the Sports Series and the most luxurious car McLaren has ever built, as well as the 570S GT4 and 570S Sprint track variants. 2016 also marked the introduction of the company’s new business plan, Track22, which sees the company investing £1B in Research and Development to deliver 15 all new cars or derivatives by the end of 2022, of which at least 50% will feature hybrid technology. The uplift in sales in 2016 also saw the launch of the second shift at the McLaren Production Centre as well as the company’s third year of profitability in just six years of trading. In March 2017, the second-generation Super Series was introduced at the Geneva Motor Show with the global premiere of the McLaren 720S. 

McLaren Automotive Partners          
To support the development, engineering and manufacture of its range of innovative and highly acclaimed sports cars, McLaren Automotive has partnered with world leading companies to provide specialist expertise and technology including, AkzoNobel, Kenwood, Pirelli, Richard Mille and SAP. 

Visit cars.mclaren.com for more details. 

Further information: 

Wayne Bruce
Global Communications & PR Director | McLaren Automotive Limited
Phone: +44 (0) 1483 261500
Mobile: +44 (0) 7768 132429
Email: wayne.bruce@mclaren.com

Paul Chadderton
Global Product Communications & PR Manager | McLaren Automotive Limited
Phone:+44 (0) 1483 261500
Mobile: +44 (0) 7990 776749
Email: paul.chadderton@mclaren.com

Adam Gron
Senior Press Officer - UK | McLaren Automotive Limited
Phone: +44 (0) 1483 261500
Mobile: +44 (0) 7827 081 770
Email: adam.gron@mclaren.com
Twitter: www.twitter.com/Adam_Gron

Freddie Gilbey
Lifestyle Communications | McLaren Automotive Limited
Phone: +44 (0) 1483 261500
Mobile: +44 (0) 7500 999 553
E-mail: freddie.gilbey@mclaren.com

Hunter Skipworth
Social Media Manager | McLaren Automotive Limited
Phone: +44 (0) 1483 261500
Mobile: +44 (0) 7990 564 052
E-mail: hunter.skipworth@mclaren.com  

Amel Boubaaya
European Communications & PR Manager | McLaren Automotive Limited
Phone: +44 (0) 1483 261500
Mobile: +44 (0) 7920 531357
E-mail: amel.boubaaya@mclaren.com

John Paolo Canton
Head of Public Relations | McLaren North America
Phone: +1 646 926 5971
Email: jp.canton@mclaren.com

Karin Haferkorn
Head of Marketing & PR, Middle East, Africa and Latin America | McLaren Automotive Limited
Phone: +44 (0) 1483 261343
Mobile: +44 (0) 7899 816872
Email: karin.haferkorn@mclaren.com

Sunny Zhang
PR Communication Director - China | McLaren Automotive Limited
Phone: +86 (0) 21 2074 0520
Mobile: +86 186 1617 9933
Email: sunny.zhang@mclaren.com

Gracia Yap
PR Manager – Asia Pacific | McLaren Automotive Limited
Phone: +65 6338 3700
Mobile: +65 9109 3698
Email: gracia.yap@mclaren.com

Media website: cars.mclaren.press
Facebook: www.facebook.com/mclarenautomotive
Twitter: www.twitter.com/McLarenAuto
You Tube: www.youtube.com/mclarenautomotivetv 

Images: 4 Videos: 0